Seen & Heard: Everyone Could Benefit from the 12 Steps

I get a quote in my email from the Alcoholics Anonymous publication, AA Grapevine. A few days ago the quote was something that I have thought for a long time. It said:

“While I wouldn’t recommend that anyone become an alcoholic, I believe that sober alcoholics living the AA way of life have been blessed with a gift. It’s a gift that can’t be bought, that can’t be won in a lottery, that can’t be stolen, forged, or rented.”

I’ve been in recovery for over a decade. For most of those years, I’ve been active in Alcoholics Anonymous, had a sponsor, and been working on the 12 Steps. I am so grateful for this program that didn’t give me my old life back but instead gave me a much better one. I’ve often thought about the fact that if I hadn’t become an alcoholic, I never would have had the opportunity to learn about the steps. As a result, I wouldn’t have gained the knowledge, self-awareness, and willingness to change that I learned in the rooms of AA.  

From the very beginning, I have thought that every person, not just those with a drug or alcohol problem, would benefit from working the steps, no matter what their issues were.

The steps teach a new way to live. They provide a framework for personal growth and change. Moreover, the steps encourage individuals to take responsibility for their actions, make amends for harm caused to others, and seek spiritual peace and connection. Through working the steps with a sponsor, individuals can receive guidance, motivation, and accountability as they work to improve their lives and overcome whatever issues they are having.

3 thoughts on “Seen & Heard: Everyone Could Benefit from the 12 Steps

  1. I’ve thought this with my experience with OCD! Also, I am so proud of you, Jami. I love seeing the many posts you’ve been making lately. You continue to inspire me to write.

Leave a comment