Gratitude – July 12

I’m late with this post.  It’s Sunday morning, and I should’ve written this last night, but, oh well…the day got away from me.

Yesterday was a lazy day.  I spent time watching TV, napping, and then in the evening, I went and had coffee with a friend that I hadn’t seen for a couple of weeks.  It was a good day with lots to be grateful about.

Since I have been taking the time to write down the things that I am grateful for each day, I have noticed that I am much more attuned to all of the good things I experience throughout the day.  There is a definite change in the way I think.  Just a couple of weeks of writing a gratitude list has already retrained my brain to go to positive thoughts first.  In the past, I have had to consciously tell myself to look for the good in situations after I find myself wallowing in the negative.  It is like a breath of fresh air to be able to go to gratitude first, and then tackle whatever needs tackling.  It feels like freedom, it’s empowering, and it’s easy!!  If you haven’t tried it yet, please do.  It works.

So yesterday, my stepson had to go back to his mom’s after having spent the last two weeks here. He spends every weekend with us, but in the summer he gets to stay for two weeks.  We had a great time with him, and I was sad to see him go.  I had gotten used to the routine of having a kid around all of the time, and I liked it.  Not so long ago, these last two weeks would’ve been really hard for me.  I would’ve constantly thought about my daughter and I know that I would’ve engaged in a shit ton of self-pity.  My feelings about not being with my daughter would have overshadowed any of the good stuff about being with my stepson.  That didn’t happen this time.  I’m not sure if it is all because of my taking on gratitude as my healthy habit this month, but I know that it sure helped.  When my mind started to wander into thoughts of why my daughter isn’t in my life, I was able to redirect them into gratitude that God has given me another chance to be a parent.  It doesn’t minimize the feeling of loss from the past, but it does give me purpose and comfort in the present.

So today I am grateful for a new way of thinking, a better way of living, and for all of the good things in my life.

Oh, and napping…I am definitely grateful for napping.

 

Leave a Reply

