Gratitude – July 9

Sleep

I have so many friends and acquaintances that tell me how hard it is for them to get to sleep, or stay asleep, or both.  Even my husband suffers from insomnia.  When I hear the stories about laying in bed, staring at the ceiling, with anxious thoughts swirling around in someone’s head, I cannot relate at all.  I can’t relate because, while I may not be good at many things, I am a champion sleeper.  I can sleep anywhere, on any type of mattress, on couches, in cars, on the floor, with a pillow or without.  I can sleep if I have eaten spicy food, or if I have just had a pot of coffee or an energy drink.  I can sleep if I am happy, sad, anxious, depressed, overwhelmed, angry, excited…there isn’t any emotion that can keep me from blessed slumber.  And I sleep soundly.  Very soundly.  Like the dead, in fact.  I almost never wake up in the middle of the night, I don’t hear anything, I don’t feel my husband get into bed with me if he stays up later than I do.  I just don’t lose sleep over anything.

In the past I have wondered if maybe there might be something wrong with me.  Is it normal that a person can (and does) fall asleep so quickly and so soundly?  When I am upset about something, shouldn’t I have trouble sleeping?  Does the fact that I don’t, mean that I am abnormal?  I know, from talking to others, there aren’t very many people who are like me.  When I am tired, it’s because I didn’t get my preferred eight or nine hours of uninterruptible sleep, not because, like them, I tossed and turned all night fighting to go to sleep.  Not being able to sleep just isn’t something that makes sense to me.  On the rare occasions when I have thought I was having trouble, it was because I hadn’t fallen asleep 45 seconds after I closed my eyes (it might have taken a minute and a half instead).

I realize, now, how fortunate I am to be able to sleep, and that I should stop worrying about it.  Sleep was my goto in early sobriety when I didn’t know what to do with myself.  For me, it is an excellent cure for situational anxiety; I always wake up being able to think more clearly, the physical symptoms of anxiety are gone and I am ready to deal with whatever is upsetting me.   It’s like my emotional clock, which was wound tightly before a nap or a night’s sleep, is reset.

So today, even though sometimes I wish I could get by on less sleep, and that I could stay awake until the end of TV shows,  I am grateful that I sleep well and that I sleep soundly.  I am grateful for my peaceful snoozing. 🙂

 

*******************************************************************

thankful-what

 

PS-this post is late because I fell asleep before I could get to it last night. 😉

3 thoughts on “Gratitude – July 9

  1. That is a HUGE thing to be thankful for. I have always been a problem sleeper. I don’t obsess about it now that I am retired, but even so I still have issues with sleeping.

  2. You are so lucky. I used to be able to sleep like that in my twenties. Then I went on an anti-depressant and had a hard time sleeping. I couldn’t stay a sleep either. Since then, I’ve had problems sleeping, even when I went off the anti-depressant. I would love to be able to sleep like that again.

  3. I so agree…. I was always an a amazing sleeper. Once I had kids not so much. The past few bad drinking years, I swore I was the only person in the world who could not sleep all night or sleep off a hangover- nope wide awake feeling like crap. Now that I am sober, I can’t get enough. I swear I’m sleeping thru sobriety. I love it b/c my old me is coming back….. I don’t miss the crappy sleep. & agree I am so grateful for being a good sleeper!!!

Leave a Reply

