Gratitude – July 6

Back-to-reality

My vacation from work is over, I head back to reality tomorrow.  I am anticipating a crazy, busy day.  I will probably have at least 50 voicemails and probably triple or quadruple that in emails.  I will most likely have students, staff, and faculty in my office all day long.  I have a feeling that tomorrow will be one of those days that I get tired of hearing my own name.  “Jami, can you…?” “Jami, did you…?”  “Jami, let me give you an update on…”  “Jami, can I have a few minutes when you’re not busy?”  “Jami, Jami, Jami…”

You know what,  though?  I’m okay with that.  I have had a wonderful 9 days to relax and do the things that feed my soul.  I’ve written, read, talked with friends, and spent time with my husband and stepson.  I was mindful and present and I enjoyed every moment of my time off.  I can’t remember the last time that I felt that way about a vacation.  I actually feel recharged and motivated to go to work tomorrow.  (I know that is subject to change around 7:00 a.m. tomorrow morning, but hopefully it won’t.)

Today I am grateful…

…that I have had the last week to rest and refuel

…that I haven’t been stressed or had any anxiety for 9 days in a row

…that tomorrow I will get to see my friends at work and catch up

…that I have a job that I like most of the time and love some of the time

…that several coworkers kept up on some of my daily work while I was gone, so tomorrow won’t be as hectic as it would be otherwise

I’m off to bed early, so I’m ready for tomorrow.  Tonight, as I go to sleep, I will do so with serenity and a grateful heart.  I hope you will too.

**************************************************************

thankful-what

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

