A Mother’s Love…and Loss

I wrote this post last year. Today, on Mother’s Day, I wanted to repost it as a cautionary tale to those mothers out there that are struggling with alcoholism or addiction. I know that addicts aren’t usually successful at remaining clean and sober when they are trying to do it for someone else (otherwise I would’ve gotten sober long before 17 months ago), but sometimes remembering the negative consequences that are looming, just waiting for that first drink, can help us not to pick up.
I hope that all of you mothers out there have a blessed and joyous day and that you never take for granted that your children will always be in your life.

Sober Grace

The last few days I have debated with myself whether or not to post about this.  Actually, I’ve been thinking about it since I started this blog.  Since I couldn’t make up my mind, I decided to think about the pros and cons of writing about this subject.  The pros are that it will probably be cathartic for me, that I often get clarity about things when I write, that I might get some support by writing about this, and that I love the feeling of liberation I get when I am honest about myself and my feelings.  The cons are that it will bring up a lot of emotions, that it will be difficult to write, and that I honestly don’t even know if I know enough words to really express how I feel about it (not an ideal feeling for someone who just started blogging).

I think the pros…

View original post 1,041 more words

One thought on “A Mother’s Love…and Loss

  1. Jami! Thank you for sharing this beautiful and heartfelt post. I, you know, can so very much relate to your story. I believe that I gave up too, well, i know, I did, because I continued to drink. I couldn’t get sober for her, that’s how powerful this is! This disease is dreadful! I hate it!

    But, I did finally got sober I was able to rebuild my relationship with my daughter.

    And you are now sober too and I know with my entire heart that this will happen to you too. You are working hard, you are growing and getting better with every sober day. That’s the best that you can do and that is huge!

    Sending you many hug! I know today is hard, but hang in and don’t ever, ever lose hope!

Leave a Reply

