Home » Gratitude » Gratitude – July 4

Gratitude – July 4

 

1450179_702153803129060_1563503084_n-300x199 (2)

Today I feel happy, and thankful.  If you read my blog regularly, then you know that holidays are often difficult for me because I don’t have any contact with my family, including my daughter  (if you are new to Sober Grace, you can read about it here and here).  Today being the 4th of July, there was a possibility that a melancholy mood would strike and leave me down.  This afternoon I did have a few pangs of sadness as I wondered what my family was doing.  When I wasn’t on the outs with them, the Fourth was always a day of grilling and then watching the fireworks together.  It seems like we were all on our best behavior on holidays, and there usually wasn’t any drama – unlike the other days of the year.

Other than those few pangs, though, I have been happy all day.  It’s been another lazy day of reading and spending time with Austin and Benjamin, and I have much to be grateful for:

  • On this day that celebrates freedom, I am so grateful to be free of the slavery that booze held me in for so long, and that feels great.
  • I am grateful for the recent conversations I have had with those closest to me:  my sponsor, my sponsee, and my BFF.
  • I am grateful for a cool (relatively) and overcast day, even though we only got a few sprinkles.
  • I am grateful that my husband has told me that I am beautiful every day this week, even though I’ve been living in Frumpville.
  • I am grateful that we have four plump little puppies to hold, there really are few things better.
  • I am grateful for books and blogs and for having the time this week to read them

I hope that everyone has had a fun, safe, and sober 4th of July and that you, too, have a lot to be thankful for.

*****************************************************************

what are you grateful for today

 

One thought on “Gratitude – July 4

  1. Glad your 4th is a relaxing one. Mine was too. I’m grateful for my family. Grateful I could retreat to our vacation home with my parents, sibling & my children. It’s like mini vaca and I can practice self care and not be concerned with a to do list. Time here has been very helpful on my early sobriety!!!

Leave a Reply

